North Fort Myers was once loosely defined as stretching along the north bank of the Caloosahatchee and extending back along us 41. North Fort Myers didn't really get a good start until the late 1930s when Tom Phillips, a very active developer, started a subdivision called Cabana City.
The original Edison Bridge, connecting Fort Myers to North Fort Myers opened for traffic on February 11, 1931, the 84th birthday of its namesake, Thomas Edison.
Scottie's Coffee Shop, owned by Dawson McDaniel, was very rustic. A huge cypress log had been sawed in half to serve as the counter. The stools were cypress knees with seats.
Woodrow, Florida, a long-vanished community in North Fort Myers, was represented by the Halcyon Economics Club in this photo of an early parade in Fort Myers.
The tranquility of New Prospect Cemetery is an iconic paradox to its busy surroundings. The cemetery is on Bayshore Road in North Fort Myers, and is all that remains of New Prospect.
Herman Hingson was living on Charlou Channel, an inlet off Hancock Creek in 1947 when this alligator became a pest. Hingson first tried to shoot the alligator. When the bullets bounced off the critter's skill, Hingson traced the alligators cave back from the creek bank, dug down and dropped a stick of dynamite in the hole!
When Lee Electric Co-operative was formed in 1940, officers secured a loan from the Rural Electrification Administration to purchase this diesel powered station. Photo courtesy of LCEC
This modest frame schoolhouse surrounded by palmettoes was built in 1911 and called the Pondella School. It was located about one block east of Moody Road.
These cottages constructed from coral block were built in the early 1930s, during the period after the completion of the Edison Bridge in North Fort Myers.
The Shell Factory, a popular tourist attraction, started in Bonita Springs. It was once the largest business in North Fort Myers in 1961 when this photo was taken.